Blank 1
Blank 2

Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series
P O Box 189                                                                                                                     Fayetteville, TN 37334                                                                                                                 256-924-4546

FOLLOW THE SOUTHERN ALL STAR DIRT RACING SERIES @:  www.facebook/  twitter @sasdirt



Brandon Sheppard Captures First Southern All Star Win At Smoky Mt

RACE RECAP: MARYVILLE, TN-Brandon Sheppard of Berlin, IL., made his first visit to Smoky Mt Speedway count as he got his first win with the Southern All Stars as well as the speedway when  he won the WIMZ 103.5 Rockin With The Stars 50 lapper that paid $7,500 to win.  Sheppard took the lead away from pole sitter Shane Clanton of Zebulon, GA.., on lap 15 and then worked lapped traffic to near perfection on his way to the win in the caution free event. Three time Southern All Star Champion Chris Madden of Gray Court, SC., started in the  7th position and worked his way to a second place finish, third went to Avon, NY., driver Tim McCreadie from 6th, Clanton finished in the fourth spot,
Eric Wells of Hazard, KY., finished 5th.

Sixth through tenth belonged to Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN.. from his 11th  starting spot, Brian Shirley of Chilton, WI., Tyler Erb of New Waverly, TX., Shannon Buckingham of Maryville, TN., and Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN., from his 16th starting position.

RACE TIDBITS: Points leader Casey Roberts did not attend the event, giving the points lead to Bo Shirley, Roberts fell back to second, with Austin Horton third, with T J Reaid fourth and Tristan Sealy fifth.  Sealy failed to make the event, while Eric Hickerson had a power steering pump go out ending his night. 72 year old East Tennessee Racing Hall of Fame member Lamar Winkle Knoxville, TN.,  attempted to qualifying for the Southern All Star event.  1994 Southern All Star Champion Dale McDowell developed mechanical problems at the start of his heat and fell out ending his night and 1999 Southern All Star Champion Jamie Perry hit the wall in qualifying ending his night. A huge crowd in attendance that also had the USCS Sprint Cars on the program.  Probably one of the strongest fields of cars from top to bottom for a Southern All Star sanctioned event since the early days of the Hav-A-Tampa Series when the series sanctioned those events.

Sheppard Sponsors: Rocket Chassis/Durham Race Engines/Valvoline/ACE Metal Works/Seubert Calf Ranches/Gunter’s Honey/Hoosier Racing Tires

Car Count: 36

SUNOCO RACE FUELS GROUP QUALFYING: Group A Shane Clanton 15.528; Group B Brandon Sheppard 15.246

Hoosier Racing Tires Heat Winners: Shane Clanton; Jason Jameson;
Brandon Sheppard; Brian Shirley

PPM Race Products B Mains: Donald McIntosh, Vic Hill

AR Bodies Last Car Lead Lap: Shannon Buckingham

COR Suspensions 10th Place Finisher: Jimmy Owens

36 Racing & Fabrication Hard Charger: Jimmy Owens

Race Car Engineering Hard Luck Award: Eric Hickerson

BrakeOMeter 4th Place Finisher Award: Shane Clanton

Results Pending Tire Test: 1.Brandon Sheppard; 2.Chris Madden; 3.Tim McCreadie; 4.Shane Clanton; 5.Eric Wells; 6.Mike Marlar; 7.Brian Shirley; 8.Tyler Erb; 9.Shannon Buckingham; 10.Jimmy Owens; 11.Jason Jameson; 12.Rickey Weiss; 13.Michael Chilton; 14.Joey Coulter; 15.Vic Hill; 16.T J Reaid; 17.Austin Horton; 18.Bo Shirley; 19.Tommy Kerr; 20.Skip Arp; 21.Michael Page; 22.Donald McIntosh; 23; Brandon Overton; 24.Kyle Hardy.

DNS:  Derek Ellis; Curtis Greer; Robby Moses; Bobby Giffin; Tristan Sealy; Billy Ogle Jr; Eric Hickerson; David Crabtree; Mark Douglas; Dale McDowell; Lamar Winkle

The next Southern All Stars event will be on Saturday night May 6th at the Talladega Short Rack in Eastaboga, AL., for the Spring NASCAR event 40 lap $4,000 to win event.
For more information on the

For more information concerning the Southern All Stars contact Lynn Acklin - General Manager: 256-924-4546

2017 SOUTHERN ALL STAR POINTS STANDINGS: 1.Bo Shirley 400; 2.Casey Roberts 382; 3.Austin Horton 380; 4.T J Reaid 362; 5.Tristan Sealy 324; 5.Clint Smith 302; 6,Eric Hickerson 276;  8.Tyler Crowder 246; 9.J R Moseley 212; 10.Brad Skinner 196

2017 CRUISE WITH THE CHAMPIONS/DIRTONDIRT.COM ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: 1.Austin Horton 380; 2.T J Reaid 362; 3.Tristan Sealy 324; 4. Eric Hickerson 276;

2017 AR Bodies Challenge: 1.Eric Hickerson 140; 2.Brad Skinner 82; 3.Brandon Overton 74; 4.Josh Putnam 45; 5.Derke Ellis 35; 6.Jamie Perry 33.

May 6-Talladega Short Track-Eastaboga, AL $4,000
May 13-Thunderhill Raceway-Lawrenceburg, TN $4,000
May 20-Senoia Raceway-Senoia, GA $5,054

2017 Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series Sponsors:
*Hoosier Racing Tire “The Official Race Tire” of the Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series *Patriot Sports “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series *Sunoco Race Fuel “The Official Racing Fuel” of the Southern All
Star Dirt Racing Series

2017 Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series Marketing Partners Include: AR Bodies, Brodix Cylinder Heads, ,  COR Suspensions, Cruise with the Champions,, H3 Performance Graphics, Integra Racing Shocks, , MSR Mafia Web Design and Service, PPM Racing Products,, 36 Racing & Fabrication, Racecar Engineering, BrakeOMeter

-Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series -P.O. Box 189-Fayetteville, Tennessee  37334-