Blank 1
Blank 2



Riley Hickman, Chris Wilson & Mike Head Take Top Billing At Southern All Stars Banquet

CLEVELAND, TN-The Cleveland County Club in Cleveland TN., was the setting for the 2014 Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series banquet and by the talk among the drivers, crewman, friends and family, the 2015 racing is shaping up to be a good year.

2014 Champion Riley Hickman of Cleveland, TN., took home the top honors for the second year in a row as Hickman took three wins with the series, at Boyds Speedway, Talladega Short Track and Cleveland Speedway. Hickman also bagged the top honors for the car builder of the year for Chip Vineyard Race Cars of Knoxville, TN., and motor builder of the year with Vic Hill Racing Engines of Mosheim, TN., Brad “Urkel” Carvin also took his second crew chief of the year as he helped Hickman to 11 top five finished and 13 top tens.

In accepting his award Hickman thanks his crew chief along with the many of family friends and supporters that have helped him along the way and also a special thanks to his wife and kids for their everlasting support in being able to do what he loves do to. Hickman now joins the elite list of multi time champions that include one of his best friends Ronnie Johnson, Rex Richey, Clint Smith, Roger Best, Chris Madden, Ivedent Lloyd Jr and Randy Weaver.

Chris Wilson of Crossville, TN., embarked on his first full year of tour racing with the series and also captured the Cruise with the Champions/ Rookie of the Year title. Wilson finished third overall in the series points chase along with two top five finishes as well as nine top ten finishes. Wilson also grabbed the season Hard Charger award as he passed the most cars during the 2014 season. In Wilson’s acceptance speech he thanked his parents, along with family and friends that helped him get to the track each and every week. Wilson also thanked all the fellow drivers for their support during the season as he would look to other drivers and ask question about certain aspects of the night during the season.

The 2015 edition of the Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series Hall of Fame induction went to no one more deserving than Ellenwood, GA., driver Mike Head who along with his wife Carolyn accepted his award with a lot of passion that shows his true love for the series and he showed all thanked all the drivers in attendance for their continued support of the longest running dirt late models series in the country. Head talked about the many travels up and down the road with the series and the good times that were had over the years and that it was a like family as you see the people associated with the series just as much as you see your own family and that is the way it should be. Mike Head joins series Founder B J Parker, former Cleveland Speedway owner Joe Lee Johnson, the series first champion Don Hester of Tupelo, MS., Jerry Inmon of Bruce, MS., Jeff Purvis of Clarksville, TN., Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, TN., tech man John Qzley of Quinton, AL., and Duayne Hommel of Newport, TN.

Todd Morrow of East Ridge, TN., also in second place, said during his award speech, was thankful for the many of his family and friend in attendance for the opportunity to have a chance to run for the series as he considers still one of the most prestigious series titles in all of dirt late model racing just because it was one of the very first series that got started and is still in operation. Morrow had three wins during the season with a pair of victories at Talladega Short Track and one at Tennessee National Raceway.

The southern All Star Dirt Racing Series would like to thank the many people that helped out during the 2014 season from officials, sponsors, to friends and family as well as the 169 different drivers that raced with the series and the all the tracks that hosted series events in 2014 and look forward to being with you again in 2015.

For more information and rules about the Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series, visit the series web site at, or visit the series on Facebook at Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series. Also you can follow us on Twitter @sasdirt.

More information will be coming out on this event as the Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series continues to work its schedule out for the 2015 season and if any tracks would like to be a part of the 32nd year of Southern All Star Dirt Series racing please call Lynn Acklin at 256-924-4546 or email at
2015 Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series

*Hoosier Racing Tire “The Official Race Tire” of the Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series
*Patriot Sports “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series
*Sunoco Race Fuel “The Official Racing Fuel” of the Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series

2015 Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series Marketing Partners Include: AR Bodies, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Butlerbuilt Racing Seats, Cruise with the Champions,, H3 Performance Graphics, Integra Racing Shocks, , MSR Mafia Web Design and Service, PPM Racing Products,, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil by Ed Lowe, The Joie of Seating,

-Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series -P.O. Box 189-Fayetteville, Tennessee 37334-